Types of apprenticeships

EmployerThis article sits within the Employer section

There are 2 different types of apprenticeships: frameworks and standards. They cover a wide range of jobs across many industries. 

Apprenticeship frameworks

Apprenticeship frameworks are work-related and professional qualifications. Frameworks do not have an end-point assessment.

We are phasing frameworks out. The last date for new starts for all remaining live apprenticeship frameworks is 31 July 2020. All apprenticeships from 1 August 2020 will be on apprenticeship standards.

Apprenticeship standards

Apprenticeship standards show what an apprentice will do and the skills required of them, by job role. The Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education review and approve apprenticeship standards. 

Each standard has been developed by a group of employers and sets out the core skills, knowledge and behaviours an apprentice will need for a specific occupation. Apprentices must pass an end-point assessment before completing their apprenticeship.

Choosing an apprenticeship standard

There are different apprenticeship standards for a job role. Find information about different apprenticeship standards

You can only select a standard that is ‘approved’ by the institute. Not all industries have approved standards yet. 

If there is no standard for your apprenticeship, you cannot get government funding for it.

Last updated on

Is this page useful? Thank you for your feedback. You can